Marion Cohen

Virtual

Yesterday I decided to Google 721 Sheridan Avenue, Roselle NJ. I wanted to know 
whether those bushes were still there, whether the next-door driveway was still there, 
whether indeed 721 Sheridan was still there. It was, the bushes too and the next door 
driveway. But not our driveway, the one we used to scamper around on while Mommy 
sprinkled the water hose on us most summer days. Yesterday our driveway was grass.

I moved the cursor a house or two both left and right but I didn’t recognize those houses. 
So I moved it back to 721, tried to follow it into the windows, especially the top ones. 
Was our old bedroom still one big room, do two children still sleep there and jump from 
bed to bed?

The cursor wouldn’t go in there so I decided to Google 13 Whittier Avenue, Franklin 
Township, NJ. That was before 721 Sheridan. But I kept getting 16 Whittier or 14 or 12. 
Nothing was the light green house with the dark red roof. 

Then I tried to move the cursor to that mailbox down the street, just before those woods. 
I see mailboxes like that in thrift stores every once in a while. They’re metal and kind 
of big and if there’s mail that day, a red flag perks up. My father used to take me along 
when he got the mail, sometimes we’d continue walking through those woods. There was 
a little brook and a tree. Once I left my Sparkle Plenty doll under that tree. She had long 
golden curly hair. When I remembered her we walked back but she wasn’t there. 

Next time I’m going to Google “upstairs bedroom, two wooden beds, 721 Sheridan Ave” 
and “mailbox with little red flag, left end of Whittier Ave”. Maybe I’ll even Google 
Sparkle Plenty.

Marion Deutsche Cohen is expecting her 20th book any minute — Parables for a Rainy Day, Green Fuse Press, CO. Other recent titles include the memore Dirty Details: The Days and Nights of a Well Spouse (Temple University Press, PA) and Crossing the Equal Sign (Plain View Press, TX), poetry about the experience of mathematics. She teaches math at Arcadia University in Glenside PA, where she developed the course Mathematics in Literature. Other interests are classical piano, singing, Scrabble, thrift-shopping, four grown children, and three grand.

Leave a Reply

